Eastburn Community Service Award Nomination has been Postponed Until Fall 2020

On March 26, 2019

Community members are invited and encouraged to nominate a deserving Chester County resident to receive the Eastburn Community Service Award, presented each year in memory of Jane and Al Eastburn, both of whom served the Coatesville area as non-profit leaders with distinction.

With the encouragement and initial funding of Dallas Krapf and the Krapf Bus Co., the Eastburn Community Service Award was established in 2016 by the Brandywine Health Foundation’s board of directors, in recognition of Jane and Al Eastburn’s service to the Coatesville area through their leadership of various boards and community organizations over several decades, including Brandywine Hospital, the Visiting Nurses Association, the Coatesville Area Public Library, the YMCA, Chester County Chamber of Business & Industry, Coatesville Area Partners for Progress, and the Brandywine Health Foundation. “Al Eastburn and his wife Jane literally gave their whole lives to the community and worked hard to make Coatesville a better place for everyone,” commented Dallas Krapf, Co-Chairman of the Board, Krapf Bus Companies. “After Jane and then Al passed away, I wanted something to be done every year so they would be recognized for their lifelong commitment to the community.”


The Eastburn Community Service Award is given to an individual who has and/or still gives back to the Coatesville community, making a positive difference with their time, energy, expertise.  While philanthropic support is an added benefit, it is not the most significant factor. Past award recipients:  Pierre Annaballi (Coatesville Area Public Library), Robert “Bob” A. Spatola (Handi-Crafters, Inc. and Coatesville Youth Initiative), Steve and Shannon Kirk (Scott Field Project) and Sgt. Rodger Ollis, Jr.

Priority will be given to those who:

  • help/support non-profits in the Coatesville community,
  • volunteer their time and talents in the Coatesville area,
  • serve as mentors to help develop future volunteer leaders for our community,
  • have a consistently positive outlook on the future of the Coatesville community,
  • and persevere through challenges and setbacks.